Difference between revisions of "Add/Edit/Delete Participants"

From eLearning Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
 
(2 intermediate revisions by the same user not shown)
Line 5: Line 5:
 
== Adding Participants ==
 
== Adding Participants ==
  
#In your site, from the menubar, click '''Site Info'''.
+
#In your course site, click on the '''Site Info''' tool in the menu on the left-hand side of the screen.
 
#Click '''Add Participants'''.  
 
#Click '''Add Participants'''.  
 
#Select whether or not the participant you're adding has an official UD email address.
 
#Select whether or not the participant you're adding has an official UD email address.
#*For participants with official e-mail addresses, under '''Adding Official UD Participants''', type in the participant's UD username. If you wish to add more than one participant, enter each item on a separate line.  
+
#*For participants with official e-mail addresses, under '''Adding Official UD Participants''', type in the participant's UD username or ID number. If you wish to add more than one participant, enter each item on a separate line.  
 
#*For participants without official e-mail addresses, under '''Adding Guest Participants''', enter their email address, lastname, and firstname. If you wish to add more than one participant, enter items on separate lines.
 
#*For participants without official e-mail addresses, under '''Adding Guest Participants''', enter their email address, lastname, and firstname. If you wish to add more than one participant, enter items on separate lines.
 
#Click '''Continue'''.
 
#Click '''Continue'''.
Line 23: Line 23:
 
== Editing Participants/Making Participants Inactive ==
 
== Editing Participants/Making Participants Inactive ==
  
#In your site, from the menubar, click '''Site Info'''.
+
#In your course site, click on the '''Site Info''' tool in the menu on the left-hand side of the screen.
 
#In the participant list, you can change a participant's role using the drop-down list under "Role". <br />'''More detailed information about roles can be found on the [[Understand Roles]] page.'''  
 
#In the participant list, you can change a participant's role using the drop-down list under "Role". <br />'''More detailed information about roles can be found on the [[Understand Roles]] page.'''  
 
#Under "Status", you can use the drop-down list to change a participant's status; choose '''Active''' or '''Inactive'''. An inactive student remains a member of the site, but no longer has access. (You can use this to exclude students from a site who would otherwise have access through an associated class list, and therefore cannot be removed.)  
 
#Under "Status", you can use the drop-down list to change a participant's status; choose '''Active''' or '''Inactive'''. An inactive student remains a member of the site, but no longer has access. (You can use this to exclude students from a site who would otherwise have access through an associated class list, and therefore cannot be removed.)  
Line 34: Line 34:
 
To remove a participant:
 
To remove a participant:
  
#In your site, from the menubar, click '''Site Info'''.
+
#In your course site, click on the '''Site Info''' tool in the menu on the left-hand side of the screen.
 
#In the participant list, under "Remove", check the box next to each participant you'd like to remove.  
 
#In the participant list, under "Remove", check the box next to each participant you'd like to remove.  
 
#Click '''Update Participants'''.
 
#Click '''Update Participants'''.

Latest revision as of 16:29, 10 September 2019

The "Add Participants" feature is used to give colleagues, teaching assistants, or students who are not officially registered access to your course site. Read more about Isidore Roles...

Note: You do not need to add students who are officially registered for your course because your rosters will be automatically updated as students add or drop your courses.

Adding Participants

  1. In your course site, click on the Site Info tool in the menu on the left-hand side of the screen.
  2. Click Add Participants.
  3. Select whether or not the participant you're adding has an official UD email address.
    • For participants with official e-mail addresses, under Adding Official UD Participants, type in the participant's UD username or ID number. If you wish to add more than one participant, enter each item on a separate line.
    • For participants without official e-mail addresses, under Adding Guest Participants, enter their email address, lastname, and firstname. If you wish to add more than one participant, enter items on separate lines.
  4. Click Continue.
  5. Under "Participants to be added:", select a role for each user. Note: Participants without an official UD account can only be added as students. Descriptions of the roles are below.
    More detailed information about roles can be found on the Understand Roles page.
    • Instructor: Can read, revise, delete and add both content and participants to a site.
    • SI Leader: Supplemental Instruction Leader who can read content and post announcements.
    • Student: Can read content and add content to a site where appropriate.
    • TA-Grading: Teaching assistant who can read content and grade in Assignments/Tests & Quizzes/Gradebook
    • TA-Limited: Teaching assistant who can read content
  6. Choose whether you would like to notify the participants by email that they've been added.
  7. Click on Finish.
  8. The new participants will appear in your participant list in the Site Info tool.

Editing Participants/Making Participants Inactive

  1. In your course site, click on the Site Info tool in the menu on the left-hand side of the screen.
  2. In the participant list, you can change a participant's role using the drop-down list under "Role".
    More detailed information about roles can be found on the Understand Roles page.
  3. Under "Status", you can use the drop-down list to change a participant's status; choose Active or Inactive. An inactive student remains a member of the site, but no longer has access. (You can use this to exclude students from a site who would otherwise have access through an associated class list, and therefore cannot be removed.)
  4. Click Update Participants.

Removing Participants

If a participant is part of the official roster maintained by the Registrar's Office, that participant cannot be removed. They can, however, be made inactive so that they no longer have access to the course page.

To remove a participant:

  1. In your course site, click on the Site Info tool in the menu on the left-hand side of the screen.
  2. In the participant list, under "Remove", check the box next to each participant you'd like to remove.
  3. Click Update Participants.

Get participant's official username

  1. Go to: https://porches.udayton.edu
  2. Enter your UD username and password, and click Login.
  3. From the Front Porch tab, scroll down the page to where the People Search is located.
  4. Ensure that the People tab is selected.
  5. In the "Search by Last Name" box, type the last name of the participant you wish to find and click Search
  6. The names of all persons affiliated with the University with that last name will appear, alphabetized by first name.
  7. Locate the full name of the participant you wish to find.
  8. The official username will be all of the characters before the @ symbol in the University E-mail section.


Return to Site Info main page.